

Logical Argument: The offensive (Florida) coach in turn argues that R2 successfully ran to third base during the play, and would have ended up on third base no matter the call in the outfield: he would have either advanced due to his being forced to do so, or as a result of tagging up with a play that deep into right field. After video review, the umpires reverse the on-field ruling, declare the batter out, and send the two base runners back to the bases they occupied at the beginning of the play: One out, R1, R2.įlorida questions the runner placement rule. Replay Review: The defensive (Wake Forest) coach argues that the right fielder caught the ball and dropped it during the transfer process, alleging the proper call should have been a fly out. The baserunner from second successfully advances to third base, while runner R1 fails to vacate first base (forced to do so due to the batter becoming an unretired runner), and the defense tags second base for the force out: score it a fielder's choice to make the situation one out, R1, R3. The Play: With none out and two on (R1, R2), the batter flies to right field, whereupon the outfielder drops the ball in the process of catching and transferring the ball to his throwing hand, ruled "no catch" (safe) by the first base umpire. NCAA's "Getting the Call Right" rule regarding runner placement on a reversed no catch call may have incidentally put the offensive team at a disadvantage during the Gainesville Super Regional, as a Florida baserunner was forced to return to a base he likely would have advanced from if not for an NCAA-specific rule specifically prohibiting such advancement.

Analysis, Interpretations, Rules Review.
